Good makeup starts with good skin!

I’m a firm believer that good makeup starts with good skin care. When your skin is on point your makeup will be on point. Skin care is so important and that’s something that I struggled with for such a long time, because of my dry and sensitive skin. I have literally the driest skin and trust me, foundation, on top of untreated dry skin looks like dragon scales. It’s pretty scary… So today I will be sharing just a few of my favorite skin care products!

I’ll start off with my favorite makeup remover: hands down my favorite way to remove makeup would be with makeup wipes, just because it’s the easiest.  Although I love wipes, it’s not the best way to remove makeup. I’ve found that wipes don’t completely do it for me and I always need a little something extra to get off the tough makeup like matte lipstick or heavy eye makeup. When I need that extra help I love using coconut oil. Any coconut oil would work fine but remember this is going on your face so you should be using unrefined and organic. Another makeup remover I love to use is Klorain makeup removing water. It works great on tough makeup and doesn’t sting my eyes or irritate my skin.

Some say it’s not good to exfoliate every day but when it comes to dry skin, it’s almost necessary to exfoliate at least every-other day. I exfoliate on average 5 times a week. I have really only been using one exfoliator for months now and it’s the “Deep action exfoliating scrub” from Clean&Clear.  clean&clear deep action exfoliatorAside from that one, I like to make homemade natural exfoliators that I’ve seen on Pinterest or on other blogs.

When it comes to face masks I do have a favorite that I’ve been using for well over a year now – SheaMoisture coconut and hibiscus radiance mud mask. On the packaging, it says it’s for “dull skin” and that’s something that definitely goes hand-in-hand with dry skin. I use this once a week, typically on Sunday to reset my skin and get ready for a new week.

Typically after getting all my makeup off and washing my face, I apply Tarte Maracuja oil, only at night, before applying my moisturizer. In the morning before applying my moisturizer I use Clinique even better essence lotion.

After applying my oil, I go in with my moisturizer. I have been going back and forth between two moisturizers for while now. The first is called “Confidence in a cream” by ItCosmetics. I prefer to apply this specific moisturizer at night instead of in the morning. The other moisturizer that I have been using is Clinique Dramatically different moisturizing cream. There’s also another product that I’ve been loving recently; the GlowStarter from GlamGlow. It’s an illuminating moisturizer and I use it to apply under my foundation when I’m going for a natural glowy look. This product is definitely not something I’d use every day because to me it doesn’t moisturize as much as I’d need for my skin but it does look beautiful under foundation.

Good makeup starts with good skin, these are some products that work for me and my skin type. Explore products that are going to work for you and your skin!

More to come -Raquel

Leave a Reply

